

President's Circle Sponsors



US EPA – Region 9
Sunset Waste Systems
City of Los Angeles
Burrtec Waste Industries
California Department of
Conservation
Mojave Desert & Mountain
Recycling

The views expressed in this letter do not necessarily represent those of the Sponsors listed above



915 L Street, Suite C-216 Sacramento, CA 95814 916.441.CRRA [2772] Fax 916.676-4882 E-mail: info@crra.com

California Resource Recovery Association

April 6, 2010

Assemblyman Pedro Nava, Chair Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxics Committee California State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: AB 2176 (Blumenfield) - SUPPORT

Dear Assemblyman Nava:

Please support AB 2176 when it is heard in the Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxics Committee

This bill would establish a product stewardship system for mercury containing lamps, which are banned from California landfills. Despite the landfill disposal ban there is no statewide system to fund convenient recycling opportunities of mercury containing lamps for California consumers. AB 2176 would establish a much needed consistent, statewide material management system for these products, and fulfill the intent of the landfill disposal ban.

The product stewardship system that AB 2176 would establish would require lamp manufacturers to design, fund and operate a program to properly manage the lamps they sell in California. In addition to capturing far more lamps for recycling, such a system would manage lamps at a far lower cost per unit than the cost born by local household hazardous waste programs, which were not designed or suitable for recovery of these products. It would also be an incentive for manufacturers to design safer products that have less environmental impacts, as well as provide consumers with free, convenient recycling opportunities for mercury-containing lamps statewide.

This bill would also significantly reduce the environmental impacts of mercury from lighting, promote energy efficient, and create jobs in recycling.

Please support AB 2176.

Sincerely,

J. Muir Julie Muir President

Cc: Members, Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxics Committee Assemblyman Bob Blumenfield